IPL: In the mirror of Past, Present and Future


Indian Premier League (IPL), a brainchild of BCCI or to be precise its vice-president Lalit Modi, is a Twenty20 league sanctioned by ICC.

Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings XI Punjab, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians, Delhi Dare Devils and Rajasthan Royals are the eight franchise teams taking part in the tournament.

Vijay Mallya, Preity Zinta, Shah Rukh Khan, Venkataram Reddy and Nita Ambani are the major IPL franchises.
The first season of the Indian Premier League, also known as the DLF Indian Premier League, began on April 18, 2008, in Bangalore, and ended on June 1, 2008, with the victory of the Rajasthan Royals in the final at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.

The second edition of the cash-rich event was conducted in South Africa and was won by Deccan Chargers.



India’s biggest property developer DLF Group paid US$50 million to be the title sponsor of the tournament for 5 years from 2008 to 2013.


Other five-year sponsorship agreements include a deal with motorcycle maker Hero Honda worth $22.5-million, one with PepsiCo worth $12.5-million, and a deal with beer and airline conglomerate Kingfisher at $26.5-million.


Television rights:


On 15 January 2008 it was announced that a consortium consisting of India’s Sony Entertainment Television network and Singapore-based World Sport Group secured the global broadcasting rights of the Indian Premier League. The record deal has duration of ten years at a cost of US $1.026 billion. As part of the deal, the consortium will pay the BCCI US $918 million for the television broadcast rights and US $108 million for the promotion of the tournament. This deal was challenged in the Bombay High Court by IPL, and got the ruling on its side. After losing the battle in court, Sony Entertainment Television signed a new contract with BCCI with Sony Entertainment Television paying a staggering Rs. 8700 crores (87 billion) for 10 years. One of the reasons for payment of this huge amount is seen as the money required subsidizing IPL’s move to South Africa which will be substantially more than the previous IPL. IPL had agreed to subsidize the difference in operating cost between India and South Africa as it decided to move to the African nation after the security concerns raised because of its coincidence with India’s general elections.


20% of these proceeds would go to IPL, 8% as prize money and 72% would be distributed to the franchisees. The money would be distributed in these proportions until 2012, after which the IPL would go public and list its shares.


Sony-WSG then re-sold parts of the broadcasting rights geographically to other companies. Below is a summary of the broadcasting rights around the world.


On 4 March 2010 ITV announced it had secured the United Kingdom television rights for the 2010 Indian Premier League. ITV will televise 59 of the 60 IPL matches on its ITV4 free to air channel




It has shifted the viewership pattern of cricket as share of women, kids and younger audience increased over other formats. In India, top five states for IPL viewership were Gujarat, West Bengal, MP, UP and Delhi and the most popular teams were Delhi Daredevils, Royal Challengers, Chennai Super Kings and Deccan Chargers.
A similar positive reaction was seen in Sri Lanka, with interest in the Mumbai Indians being large due to the presence of Sanath Jayasuriya. Bangladesh has also reacted positively and with more players being drawn in the loose, the popularity will only grow.


Who are the cricketers involved?


The event will have new set of players this time with some of England’s top stars joining the bandwagon. Some of the Pakistan players will also make their way back into the tournament as they have been cleared by their board.
Some of the former rebel players have also been included in the auction list for the IPL 3. Players, who availed the BCCI amnesty scheme, will be able to play IPL 3.


All capped international players will have to go through an auction, which will be decided in consultation with the franchises. All new players have been divided into two categories – they will be played a maximum of 20 lakh and a minimum of 8 lakh.


The total spending cap for a franchisee in the first player auction was US $5m. Under-22 players are to be remunerated with a minimum annual salary of US $20,000 while for others it is US $50,000. The most expensive player in the IPL to date is Andrew Flintoff and Kevin Pietersen at US $1.55m each.


What’s the format?


Eight teams with 16 players in each squad.




There are five ways that a franchise can acquire a player. In the annual auction, buying domestic players, signing uncapped players through trading and buying replacements. In the trading window the player can only be traded with his consent. The franchise will have to pay the difference between the old contract price and the new contract price. If the new contract is worth more than the older one then the difference will be shared between the player and the franchise selling the player.


Some of the Team composition rules are:


Minimum squad strength of 16 players plus one physio and a coach.

No more than 8 foreign players in the squad and at most 4 in the playing XI. For the 2009 edition franchises are allowed 10 foreign players in the squad. The number allowed in the playing XI remains unchanged at 4.

A minimum of 8 local players must be included in each team.

A minimum of 2 players from the BCCI under-22 pool in each team.


Some of the differences to international T20 cricket:


The strategic time out should in the following manner:
Break of 2 1/2 minutes between over’s 6-10 at the behest of the bowling team captain. 1 break of 2 1/2 minutes between over’s 11-16 at the behest of the batsmen at the crease. The time-out should be mandatorily taken like the Power play that is used in ODIs




Teams played each other twice in a round robin system, with equal number of home and away matches. The top four ranking sides progressed to the semi-finals. There were 59 matches in total However from 2010, there will 60 matches in total. An extra match will be played for the third place.


What’s an Orange Cap?


Taking a cue from other famous events like the Tour de France, the DLF Indian Premier League has announced the introduction of the Orange Cap, which would be worn by the batsman with the most cumulative runs to his name on each day of the event.
The holder of the Orange Cap at the end of the Twenty20 extravaganza will be honored with the Winner of Orange Cap 2008 on the day of grand finale in Mumbai on June 1, the IPL said in a release.
The leader of the multi-stage grueling cycle race Tour de France wears the yellow jacket at the start of each new stage to help identify the overall leader easily.


What is Purple Cap?


This is awarded to the bowler with most cumulative wickets to his name. The holder of the Purple Cap receives recognition on the final day of the IPL. In the event of a tie at any given time, the holder will be determined by superior economy rate.




2008 Winner – Rajasthan Royals
Runner Up – Chennai Super Kings


2009 Winner – Deccan Chargers
Runner Up – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Digg Digg

Speak Your Mind