Twenty20 Champions awards announced

 2008 T20 Cricket awards: Indian Premier League players won the most of the prestigious awards in the first Twenty20 Champions awards. These awards recognise the best performers in theTwenty20 league matches. Shaun Marsh won the most consistent batsman award for his stunning performance in the Indian Premier League. He scored 616 runs at an average of 68.44. He won the Orange cap (highest number of runs) in the IPL 2008. New Zealand wicket keeper Brendon McCullum won the award for the highest individual score for his outstanding century for Kolkata Knight Riders against Bangalore Royal Challengers. He scored 158 runs in the first match of Indian Premier League (IPL). Rajasthan Royals fast bowler Sohail Tanvir (Pakistan) won the award for the best bowling performance in a T20 match. He took 6 wickets for 14 runs against Chennai Super Kings in a sensational performance. Sohail Tanvir took highest number (22) of wickets in the IPL 2008 edition to win the “Purple cap”. Best batting strike rate: Graham Napier of Essex Eagles. He scored 326 runs at a strike rate of 195.2. He hit 26 sixers in a single innings, another twenty20 record. Best bowling strike rate in a match: Laxmi Ratan Shukla of Kolkata Knight Riders. He took 3 wickets at a strike rate of 1.6. Langeveldt of the Cobras took 18 wickets at a strike rate of 9 – best performance in a tournament. Best bowling economy: Yusuf Abdullah of Dolphins. Special performance: Sialkot Stallions. Sialkot won 16 matches in a row. Visit my blog on Champions League T20 Cricket … [Read more...]